Question: How Do You Change From Archive To Delete On IPhone?

Why does my iPhone archive instead of delete?

To set up your email you would go to Settings, then tap on Mail, Contacts & Calendars, and then press Add Account.

By default in iOS, Gmail is set to archive your emails as opposed to deleting them.

Archiving email keeps the messages in an Archived folder, but Deleting moves them to the trash..

Why does mail archive instead of delete?

The Gmail app for Android gives its users two choices for discarding a new message: archive or delete. The Archive action removes the message from view in the inbox and puts it in the All Mail area, in case you ever need it again. You can find archived messages by using Gmail’s search function.

How do I change Archive to delete?

See the archive icon when you view messages. Archive from interactive notifications (Android 4.1+)….To delete instead of archive, choose Show delete only.In the. Gmail app, touch the Menu icon, then Settings.Select General settings.Check Swipe to archive or Swipe to delete.

How do I permanently delete messages from iPhone?

On your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touchIn a message conversation, touch and hold the message bubble or attachment that you want to delete.Tap More.Tap Trash , then tap Delete Message. If you want to delete all messages in the thread tap Delete All, in the upper-left corner. Then tap Delete Conversation.

How do I stop emails going to archive?

How can I stop Google from automatically archiving my emails? It sounds like you need to turn off the option in: Settings->General->Send and archive.

Should I archive or delete emails?

Deleting removes emails from your inbox. It does save up space, but you won’t be able to ever again access your emails. … Archiving also saves up storage space, by capturing and storing emails in an archive (either in the cloud or in-house appliance).

Do archived emails take up space?

Yes, messages that are archived count towards your storage quota. Even messages in the trash and spam are counted. The only difference is that messages in the spam and trash will probably be permanently deleted within 30 days, which automatically frees up space in your account.

How do I delete emails quickly?

Filter Emails. To get started, log into your Gmail inbox as you’d always do. … Select all messages. Next, check a little box under the the search bar to select all displayed messages. … Select all Conversations. … Delete all Messages. … Empty Trash.

How do I delete an email account from my iPhone without the delete button?

Want to Disable an Email Account From Your iPhone Instead of Deleting?Go to Settings > Passwords & Accounts (or Settings > Mail for older iOS)Tap on an email account.Toggle the Mail button off instead.If needed, Tap Done (for older iOS versions only)

How do I change Swipe left to delete?

How to change the swipe gesture from Archive to Delete in Gmail on iPhoneGo to the Gmail app.Select the three lines in the top left corner.Scroll down to Settings.Tap on the Mail Swipe Actions.Tap on Left Swipe or Right Swipe depending on your preference.Select Bin.Tap on Left Swipe or Right Swipe.More items…•

How do I change from archive to delete on iPhone email?

On iOS, head to Settings > Mail, Contacts, Calendars and select one of the email accounts you have set up in Mail. Next, go to Account > Advanced and in the Move Discarded Messages Into area, select either Deleted Mailbox or Archive Mailbox.

When you delete emails on iPhone do they come back?

If it appears in the Deleted folder, it’s normal. That’s because your iPhone has its own copy of the email stored in your device storage. They reappear in the inbox.

Where do archived emails go iPhone?

With iOS, ‘Mail’ can archive Gmail messages on your iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch. Archiving messages allows you to store messages you’re done with but don’t want to delete. When you archive a Gmail message, it moves to the ‘All Mail’ folder. ‘Mail’ doesn’t delete the message from your Gmail account.

Why do emails not delete on iPhone?

Answer: A: Try going into Settings > Accounts & Password > account > Account > Advanced > Deleted Mailbox, and under On The Server tap the ‘Trash’ folder so that it gets a tick against it – then come out of that series of popups by tapping on the relevant buttons at the top of them and see if you can now delete emails.